October 5, 2020

For immediate release

Submit nominations now for the 2021 Canadian Museum Awards

Revamped annual awards from the Canadian Museums Association celebrate excellence in the museum community

The Canadian Museums Association (CMA) is encouraging members of the museum community to submit nominations now for the revamped 2021 Canadian Museums Association Awards. Nominations for the annual awards, which recognize projects, exhibits, and cultural institutions of all sizes and budgets, along with museum professionals who have made significant contributions to the sector, open today. Submissions from eligible candidates will be accepted until November 15, 2020.

“One of our objectives is to strengthen the museum workforce today and for the future. We do this in a number of ways, including celebrating professional contributions to the field through awards. We’re thrilled to continue the awards program to recognize the tremendous work that museum professionals across the country carry out,” said Dr. Vanda Vitali, Executive Director and CEO, Canadian Museums Association. “I encourage you all to nominate your peers, institutions, and exhibits. Museums are an integral part of their communities and the Canadian Museum Awards are a celebration of the important, yet often unnoticed, work of museums in Canada.”

In an effort to ensure they remain current, relevant and accessible, the CMA has made some updates to the 2021 awards. This includes modifying and retiring certain categories. The 2021 Canadian Museum Awards will recognize excellence in numerous categories, including the Awards of Outstanding Achievement, which recognize exceptional museum projects in different categories including Exhibitions and Research. For example, new this year:

Social Impact Award

  • This new award recognizes the significant contribution of a museum in advocating for the advancement of an important social cause such as reconciliation, sustainable development, climate action, better standards of living together, inclusiveness, wellness, etc.

Stewardship of Collections

  • Previously named the Conservation award, this is for excellence in stewardship of collections, for example, in their physical care, in the preservation of intangible culture heritage, including relevant digital practices and documentation.

Audience Outreach

  • Previously the Education award, this award has been broadened to include all programming that advances knowledge and understanding by reaching new audiences or enhancing existing ones.

Also part of the program this year: the Awards of Distinguished Service, as well as the Barbara A. Tyler Award in Museum Leadership.

The CMA would like to thank the Membership and Awards Committee, and in particular the committee’s chair, Benoît Légaré, for the hard work and sage advice that went into the updates to the CMA’s awards program.

To submit nominations, please complete the nomination form, available on the CMA website by November 15, 2020. Nominations are evaluated by jury committees consisting of members of the museum community. All relevant information is available on the Awards section of the CMA website. Award recipients will be celebrated during a special awards ceremony at the CMA National Conference in St. John’s, Newfoundland in 2021.

Interested in helping to select award winners?
The Canadian Museums Association is seeking jury members for various awards presented throughout the year. If you would like to be considered for a place on a jury committee please send your resume to awards@museums.ca.

For more information

– 30 –


About the CMA:

The Canadian Museum Association (CMA) is the voice for Canada’s vibrant museum community, from small, volunteer-driven organizations to cherished national institutions, and for the millions of Canadians whose lives are enriched by museums. We advocate for public policies and support, we build skills across the profession, and we establish and inspire connections to strengthen and sustain museums.

The CMA acknowledges that its Secretariat is located on the traditional territory of the Algonquin Anishnaabeg People. We extend our appreciation for the opportunity to live and learn on this territory in mutual respect and gratitude. The CMA also acknowledges that as a national association, its work relates to other First Nations, Inuit, Métis and urban Indigenous people. We are committed to demonstrate respect for these groups and promote the importance of their cultural contributions through history and today.

Learn more at museums.ca.


Disponible en français.