Sovereign's Medal logo

Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers


About the Awards

Which Award? Flow chart

Past Winners

Contact & FAQs

CMA Awards

Awards of Outstanding Achievement

Award of Excellence in Philanthropy

Award of Distinguished Service

Fellows of the CMA

Barbara A. Tyler
Award in Museum Leadership

Dr. Shirley L. Thomson
Young Curators Award

Partnership Awards

History Alive! Governor General’s History Award for Excellence in Museums

ICOM Canada’s International Achievement Award

Awards for Volunteers

Museum Volunteer Award, presented by the Canadian Federation of Friends of Museums


The Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers recognizes the exceptional volunteer achievements of Canadians from across the country and celebrates a wide range of voluntary contributions.

As an official national honour created by the Crown, the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers is part of the Canadian Honours System and administered by the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General’s Chancellery of Honours. The program has incorporated and replaced the Governor General’s Caring Canadian Award, which was created in 1995 by then-Governor General the Right Honourable Roméo LeBlanc.

The Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers recognizes living Canadians who have made a significant, sustained and unpaid contribution to their community in Canada or abroad. Non-Canadians are also eligible if their contribution brings benefit or honour to Canadians or to Canada. As trusted partners of the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers program, the CMA works in collaboration with the Canadian Federation of Friends of Museums (CFFM) to nominate volunteers within the museum sector from across the country as candidates for this honour.

Nomination Instructions

For more information about the program and nomination instructions, visit .