CMA Awards

Each year the CMA Awards celebrate and encourage excellence within the Canadian museum sector.

Museums of all sizes and budgets are encouraged to submit nominations and there is a set of specific criteria established for each award. A volunteer jury conducts a peer review of all submissions and the successful recipients are honoured at the CMA's national conference.

Nomination deadline: November 15th

To learn more, please visit the awards pages below. You can also read our FAQ.

CMA President’s Award

The President’s Award provides the Association with the opportunity to recognize exceptional contributions that may not easily fit or are not appropriate in the competitive Awards of Outstanding Achievement program.

Award of Distinguished Service

The Award of Distinguished Service recognizes significant contributions by individuals to the Canadian museum sector throughout the course of their careers.

Awards of Outstanding Achievement

The Awards of Outstanding Achievement recognize exceptional museum projects in different categories including: Stewardship of Collections, Audience Outreach, Exhibitions, Research and Social Impact.

Barbara A. Tyler Award in Museum Leadership

The Barbara A. Tyler Award in Museum Leadership recognizes excellence in museum management and leadership within the Canadian museum community.

Dr. Shirley L. Thomson Young Curators Award

The Dr. Shirley L. Thomson Young Curators Award is given to a Canadian museum or an art gallery to offer internships for young graduates that enhance learning experiences for curatorial careers in the visual arts.

Awards FAQs

Visit this page to get answers to frequently asked questions about awards.

613-567-0099 x 222 
Or fax 613-233-5438